BVEStation Forums
October 31, 2014, 03:32:45 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Did you know? BVEStation is the only place you'll find the developers of the latest NYCTA routes, and talk with them live through BVEStation Chat.
 
   Home   Help Arcade Search Calendar Shop Gallery Login Register Chat  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Route Builder Part 1 Tutorial  (Read 11212 times)
nickgoh_45
Super Express
****
Posts: 396
502.00 tokens

View Inventory
Send Money to nickgoh_45

"Serangoon Interchange. Please mind the gap."

OS:
Windows XP Windows XP
Browser:
MS Internet Explorer 7.0 MS Internet Explorer 7.0

nickgoh45@hotmail.com
WWW Email
« on: June 10, 2009, 03:34:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Hey there!
Here's my tutorial for Routebuilder. I will split up my tutorials for Routebuilder into several parts.
The first part is learning how to create a simple route. There won't be much scenery in the route, cos' you've got to get the basics down first!

PART 1~ CREATING A ROUTE

After you've installed Routebuilder, open it up. You will go to the main page.



Once you're there, click 'Create New Route Project'


Quickly type in your details and once you're done, you'll come to this weird looking screen.



Here are some of the keys you need to know:

Moving around the screen: Press and hold SHIFT and drag around.
Clicking on objects: Click.
Creating tracks: Press SPACE.
Editing objects and tracks: Double click or right click.

You'll know more along the way.

Now, stare at the weird screen. Do you see this?



This is the most basic thing in Routebuilder. It's the track.

Now, click on the part above it like this:



After that, press SPACE. Ta-da! You have just created a 50m track (Including both tracks)



Now, double click on one of the tracks. A 'track properties' box will appear. However, there are some cases where something like this occurs before the 'track properties' box will appear: (For those who did not encounter this error, please skip the underlined text.)


Don't panic! The problem occurs only when the program can't find BVE2 signals! In order to solve this problem, click 'OK', and look up at the toolbars. At the top bar, beside 'Project', you'll see 'View'. Click on it and then click on 'Options' as shown below.


Ok, now you'll see several options. Just make sure that your BVE directory is correct, something like this:

C:\Program Files\BVE
(Some other operating systems may not have 'C' drive. The drives may vary.)

Once again, if the directory is wrong, click 'Browse...' and set your BVE2 folder.

Ok! You're all set to go on to the next step!

Double click the track again. (For those who have had the error occurring)

This 'track properties' box looks like this:



You can edit everything from the background to the trackside scenery objects (TSO).

Ok. Let's make a normal tunnel route. First, make sure all of the properties of your track match mine.

Length: 25m (Cannot be changed.)
Track Texture: 5=tracks\dark.b3d (Click on the 'Down Arrow' and search for this track.)
Ground Texture: empty.b3d (Click on the '...' and browse for this ground texture.)
Catenary Poles: None (Already default.)
Background Image: black.bmp (Once again, click on the '...')
Platform: None (Default)

Ok? Done! Now, click on the 'Walls and Dikes' tab next to the 'Appearance' tab.

You'll see two tso objects (grass6 as default) like this:



Now, make sure that your details match mine again:

          Left                              Right
TSO  uground_wall_l              uground_wall_r   (Make sure you press the '...' to browse for the files!)

Vertical Offset  0                              0

Wall                                                          (Leave both blanks blank.)

Now, it's time to click on the 'Extended' tab beside the 'Walls and Dikes' tab.

You'll see many things. Fill in everything as you desire.

Speed Limit: The maximum speed you can go.
Accuracy: Not sure!
Adhesion: The braking quality (What I mean is if your adhesion is high, you'll brake easily, while when its low, you'll brake slowly.)
Play Sound Effect: Not sure...
Fog Depth: Visibility. 0 means no fog.
Marker Namefile: Not sure.
Showing Duration: Not sure.

After you're done, press 'OK' at the bottom of the screen.

Now click on the track you've just edited, and press CTRL + C. Click on the other section of the track, and press CTRL + V. This allows all the properties of the edited track to be applied on the unedited track as well. That means that both sections of the tracks will look the same when you load in BVE, TrackViewer, openBVE.

Can you see this thing in the bottom left corner?



This is what I named the zooming bar. It allows you to zoom in and out. Click on the bar and slide it left or right. If you slide it left, you'll zoom out, but if you slide it right, you'll zoom in.

Done having fun with zooming in and out? Now, it's time to get to serious work!

Click above the top track and press 'Space'. Repeat the step about 3 times. You should have 6 '25'm tracks now. (FYI, when you press your space bar once, you create 25m of track.) Your track system should now look like this:



Before I forget, click on one of the tracks that was previously edited and press CTRL + C. Repeat the applying properties method by clicking on the new tracks and pressing CTRL + V. NOTE: You do not have to press CTRL + C and click on another track and press CTRL + V and then click on your other track and press CTRL + C again. You are making copies of the track's properties, and therefore you do not have to go back to press CTRL + C. Just keep on clicking on the next track and press CTRL + V.

If you accidentally press 'Space' somewhere else like this:



Once again, there is no reason to shout, "Mom!!! What am I going to do! I pressed the 'Space Bar' accidentally!!! I'm going to be so dead!!!"

Just click on that section of the track, and press 'Backspace'. It's as simple as that. You would probably be thinking how the word 'BackSpace' came about and you are probably thinking of thanking the person who invented it. Anyway, back to the main point. If you see two red dots after you delete the track, don't shout, "AHH! YUCKY RED DOTS ON MY SCREEN!" They are harmless. They won't affect your BVE route. Just leave them there.

Anyway, here is the list of the tools you'll need later on... (Click on image to have better view.)



Route Definitions: Set where your trains should go.
Objects: A library of objects to add to your route.
Trains: A reference of trains in your BVE2 folder.
Stations: Stops in your BVE Route.
Maps: A map?
Grid Tracks: Tracks that are designed perfectly for you to use.
Timetable: A timetable?
(Not shown...) Signals: A list of signals?

Now, click on 'Stations'
Something like this should appear:



Now, click on the most bottom track, then type in your station name. Press 'Add' at the bottom but do not press the other 'Add' like this:



I just changed my computer, so I'm having Windows Vista now.

After you've finished adding it, make sure you don't click anything else. Type in '1' and then click on the other 'Add' like this:



The program should look like this now:



Take note of the parts I circled. These tell you that your station has been successfuly added.

Repeat the same for the top track. You should now have two stations, and it should look like this:



If you're thinking about what are the previous options you saw while adding the stations, don't worry, I'll teach you about them soon.

Now click on the Route Definitions, like this:



A window will pop up. It's time for you to define where your train should go!

Click on 'Add Route' like this:



Type in what you want to name your route, and then click on somewhere else. Now it should look like this:



Right click on the first track, click on 'Add to Current Route', like this:



Done? Click on each track and do the same. The tracks should now look like this:



Almost done! Click on 'Project' at the top left corner, and scroll down to 'Export'. This window should pop up:



Click on this button:



After you've finished, here is the list of things you should need to know:

(1)Train: The train you'll be driving.
(2)Start Station: The station you'll start driving of course!
(3)Destination: You should know...
(4)Departure Time: The time you'll be departing the first station.
(5)Night (Checkbox): Enable the route to run at night.
(6)Stops: Which stations should your train stop? This is especially useful if you want it to run like an express train in New York.
(7)Timetable: A timetable? (Note: I'll teach you how to use it soon.)
(8)Subdirectory: C:\Program Files\BVE\Railway\Route\*Your Directory Name\
(9)Route Filename: C:\Program Files\BVE\Railway\Route\Your Directory Name\*Your Filename.csv
(10)BVE4 (Checkbox): Enables your route to run on BVE4.

*Underlined text means that is what you have to fill in...
This is how I'm going to fill it in:



When you're done, the moment we've been finally waiting for!

Press the export button!

When they finish exporting, you'll see something like this:



Ok, you're all set. Click on 'Finish'.

Let's try the route using openBVE!



This should be how it looks like in the end:



Don't feel discouraged if the route isn't nice. It's still a tutorial, and there's still lots to learn. If you work hard enough, I believe that you'l be able to be a better Route builder than me.

So, thanks for listening! See ya!
« Last Edit: June 24, 2009, 07:23:52 PM by nickgoh_45 » Logged



Harbourvale City Rapid Transit

Harbourvale Line v4 and Airport Express Line v1

Visit http://hbvcity.bvesg.co.cc right now!
mtaboy94
Subway Veteran
*****
Posts: 693
1784.00 tokens

View Inventory
Send Money to mtaboy94

Bus Operator

OS:
Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
Browser:
Chrome 2.0.172.30 Chrome 2.0.172.30

MTABoy94
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 10:00:27 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank You SO MUCH! i have been waiting for this.
Logged

OpenBVE Multiplayer General Manager
Quote from: BStyles
WMATA: Which Motherfucker Assigned These Assholes?
GoYankees
Subway Veteran
*****
Posts: 1396
1357977.00 tokens

View Inventory
Send Money to GoYankees

Constantly changes PC configuration...

OS:
Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
Browser:
MS Internet Explorer 8.0 MS Internet Explorer 8.0


« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2009, 08:34:42 AM »
ReplyReply

thank  you Grin
Logged

nickgoh_45
Super Express
****
Posts: 396
502.00 tokens

View Inventory
Send Money to nickgoh_45

"Serangoon Interchange. Please mind the gap."

OS:
Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
Browser:
MS Internet Explorer 7.0 MS Internet Explorer 7.0

nickgoh45@hotmail.com
WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2009, 09:10:50 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm sorry for editing the tutorial late! I hope that this tutorial will help you all!
Logged



Harbourvale City Rapid Transit

Harbourvale Line v4 and Airport Express Line v1

Visit http://hbvcity.bvesg.co.cc right now!
ipaclansite
Superintendent
Subway Veteran
*
Posts: 3632
1236369.00 tokens

View Inventory
Send Money to ipaclansite

BVEStation Superintendent

OS:
Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
Browser:
Firefox 3.0.11 Firefox 3.0.11


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2009, 01:04:27 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the tutorial nickgoh, if there aren't anymore edits you need to make, tell me and I'll move it to the tutorials section Smiley
Logged


Routes: R Train.
nickgoh_45
Super Express
****
Posts: 396
502.00 tokens

View Inventory
Send Money to nickgoh_45

"Serangoon Interchange. Please mind the gap."

OS:
Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
Browser:
MS Internet Explorer 7.0 MS Internet Explorer 7.0

nickgoh45@hotmail.com
WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2009, 07:25:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Sure! You can move it into the tutorials section now.
Logged



Harbourvale City Rapid Transit

Harbourvale Line v4 and Airport Express Line v1

Visit http://hbvcity.bvesg.co.cc right now!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.832 seconds with 21 queries.